HOME /

Research Guides

East Asian Art

A guide to images and bibliography of East Asian art.    Includes religious art.

Guide to Research in Islamic Art and Architecture

This guide to research tools is organized by (i) subject or artistic medium ( e.g. architecture, arts of the book, ceramics,etc) and (ii) geographic or cultural region (e.g. works on the art and architecture of Central Asia, South Asia, Iran, Egypt, Islamic Spain,etc).

Religious Statistics

This guide describes information about religious statistics available from Harvard Divinity School Library and online through the Harvard Library.

Unitarian Universalist Congregations

a bibliography of publications and manuscripts in the public domain that chronicle major events events in the life of historically Unitarian and Universalist congregations in the United States.   Includes digitized directories, yearbooks, and periodicals of the Unitarian Universalist Association and its predecessor denominations.

African American Newspapers: Guide to Databases at Harvard

This research guide identifies and links directly to Harvard's major collections of African American news sources in databases. It also points to African American news sources on microfilm, microfiche and in print.  By identifying key background and scholarly studies, the guide also invites you to situate these sources historically and socially. 

Chicago Manual of Style

Fully searchable version of the 16th and 17th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style. Also includes Chicago Manual Q & A, online tools, and a Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide.

Scholar's Guide to Google

This guide is intended to help Harvard students and researchers better understand how Google works, how to use a variety of search operators, and how to navigate Google Scholar, a special flavor of Google specifically designed for searching scholarly literature.

Biblical Studies Resources

This guide is intended to orient the user to selected resources for the study of the Bible at  Harvard Divinity School Library and in online resources licensed by the Harvard Library. It is written for Harvard library users and non-Harvard users interested in the type of information we can provide. It includes finding biblical texts, scholarly commentary in books and articles, and additional sources of information (atlases, concordances, and dictionaries).